Cake Pops!


Well, as you may know, I have attempted to create cake pops this past summer(You can check out that post here), but they didn’t exactly turn out the way I wanted them to. I promised myself that I would not give up, and that I would try again.

This time I made cake pops using a  Babycakes cake pop maker. (Click the picture to go to the Babycakes website.) I actually felt that using the cake pop maker was cheating at first, but when I baked about 24 perfectly round cake pops in 15-20 minutes I was glad I used the cake pop maker. It is very easy to use! After making a batch for my family, I felt comfortable enough  to make some for my friend’s birthday.

The cake pop maker came with an instruction booklet that also had a bunch of recipes for cake and icing. I used the simple vanilla cake recipe, and used candy melts from A.C. Moore as the coating.

milk chocolate candy coating

Vanilla Cake Pop Recipe 

Makes about 4 dozen

Ingredients:

• 1½ cups all-purpose flour
• 1 teaspoon baking powder
• ¼ teaspoon salt
• ½ cup butter, softened
• 1 cup sugar
• 2 eggs
• 2 teaspoons vanilla
• ½ cup milk
• Glaze or coating of choice
 
Directions:
1. Combine flour, baking powder and salt. Set aside.
2. In a separate bowl, beat together butter and sugar until light and creamy. Beat in
eggs and vanilla.
3. Alternately blend in flour mixture and milk into butter mixture, beginning and ending
with the flour mixture.
4. Fill each cooking reservoir with about 1 tablespoon of batter.
5. Bake 4 to 5 minutes or until a toothpick inserted into a cake pop comes out clean.
6. Allow to cool and glaze or coat, as desired.
Thanks to http://www.thereviewstew.com for the recipe.
I also used candy melts to decorate the cake pops. I chose orange because it is more of a fall color. Of course, your options for decorating cake pops are endless! I have seen snowmen, Minnie Mouse, and present-shaped cake pops. Here are a few great websites for cute and easy cake pops:

Making cake pops is SO easy with the cake pop maker! If you try them out for yourself (or if you have any questions) please leave a comment!

Have a nice weekend!

-Craft-d-Girl

Leave a Reply

