DIY: Racerback Tanktop


Hello fellow Crafters! Today I have a tutorial for you! I have noticed that recently on Youtube and Pinterest many people are making use of their old t-shirts fun again by turning them into tank tops. With the warm weather coming, I want to be equipped! I checked out quite a few tutorials and watched a lot of videos on YouTube  so I decided to try it out. I made my own tutorial for you guys, but if it is not clear enough for you, please leave a comment below 🙂

Warning: a lot of pictures!!

Ok, so let’s get started!

You will need:

T-shirttshirtDIY 001

scissors

pen or chalk (for guidelines, optional)

 

 

 

 

tshirtDIY 002

Cut off collar

tshirtDIY 003

tshirtDIY 004

Cut off sleeves

tshirtDIY 005

Next, draw an outline of your racerback

Next, turn your shirt inside out then draw an outline of your racerback. You can use a sports bra as a guide.

tshirtDIY 007

Take the semicircle that was just cut and use it for the other sleeve

Take the semicircle that was just cut and use it for the other sleeve

tshirtDIY 009

It should look something like this.

Next, cut about an inch off of the bottom of the shirt. cut off the seam of this strip...

Next, cut about an inch off of the bottom of the shirt. cut off the seam of this strip…

then cut it in half.

…then cut it in half.

Then, being careful not to rip the strip, stretch it so that it looks like this.

Then, being careful not to rip the strip, stretch it so that it looks like this. You will use this in the back of the tank top

At this point, put your shirt over a square pillow to make the following steps easier.

At this point, put your shirt over a square pillow to make the following steps easier.

Now you can see if you cut crooked on any of the steps this is a good time to fix them.

Now you can see if you cut crooked on any of the previous steps. This is a good time to fix them.

I also shaped the sleeves up a bit

I also shaped the sleeves up a bit

tshirtDIY 016

The next step is to double know the long string you made around the racerback and wrap it around the shirt and then finish it off with another double knot.

The next step is to double know the long string you made around the racerback and wrap it around the shirt and then finish it off with another double knot.

tshirtDIY 020

You can finish at this step, but you can also add string around the shoulders to the shoulders like I did.

tshirtDIY 021

 

I am pretty happy with the way it turned out. I did make a few mistakes though, so I may be making another one. I made it a little crooked on the back, hopefully it’s not too noticeable. But, for my first time, not too bad, eh?

Well, I really hope you like this tutorial!

~Craft-d-girl

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

8 responses to this post.

  1. […] have any comments or suggestions, please comment below! I also suggest that you take a look at my DIY: Racerback Tanktop before doing this […]

    Reply

  2. […] really hope you guys like this one! It is very easy, and is a great use for if you previously did a t-shirt DIY , and still have the leftover sleeves. A few weeks ago I made a few t-shirt bracelets, and I thought […]

    Reply

  3. I go to see each day some web pages and blogs to read posts, but this
    web site offers feature based content.

    Reply

  4. This design is wicked! You certainly know how to keep a reader
    entertained. Between your wit and your videos, I was almost
    moved to start my own blog (well, almost…HaHa!) Excellent job.
    I really loved what you had to say, and more than that,
    how you presented it. Too cool!

    Reply

  5. First of all I want to say wonderful blog! I had a quick question which I’d like to
    ask if you do not mind. I was interested to know how you center
    yourself and clear your mind prior to writing.
    I’ve had a tough time clearing my mind in getting my ideas
    out. I truly do enjoy writing but it just seems like the
    first 10 to 15 minutes are usually wasted just trying
    to figure out how to begin. Any ideas or tips?

    Many thanks!

    Reply

    • Thanks so much!
      Before I write I try to physically and mentally clear my workspace. This always helps me to feel organized and ready to brainstorm ideas. Also, before beginning a blog post I try to brain storm any ideas that happen to come along. I am very visual, so it sometimes helps me to write down the little snippets that I especially want to write later, and this makes me feel more confident in the major points in a post or even in just a paragraph. I hope that these tips helped out a bit and thanks so much for visiting my blog!
      ~Craft-d-Girl

      Reply

  6. Hello everybody, here every one is sharing such experience, therefore
    it’s pleasant to read this webpage, and I used to pay
    a quick visit this web site everyday.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

